Scariff/Ogonelloe to contest Munster Final

Munster Junior Club Championship Semi Final

Dr Stuart Park, Ogonnelloe GAA:

Scariff Ogonnelloe (Clare) 2-9 Clanmaurice (Kerry) 1-6

Scariff Ogonnelloe will contest the Munster Junior Club Championship Final following their defeat of Kerry outfit Clanmaurice on Saturday afternoon in Dr Stuart Park. The host club welcomed the Kerry Champions, having done the journey in reverse back in 2013, with the East Clare club repeating their victory. Scariff Ogonnelloes first half performance paved the way for their victory as the changes made by the visitors at half time put the shackles on the home sides scoring forwards.

Clanmaurice were on the attack from the throw in only for Amy Barrett to intercept and go back down the field before being fouled. Mairead Scanlon converted the resulting free. Patrice Diggin responded in kind for the Kerry outfit. The resulting puckout was wel won by Rachel Moloney who following a short run sent a cross field ball to Aoife Power who finished to the corner of the net with five minutes on the clock. This early goal settled Scariff Ogonnelloe. Diggins next opportunity with a free was wide of the mark, while a Scanlon effort dropping low towards the square was fouled for a square ball. Scariff Ogonnelloe had the next two scoring opportunities, Sarah O’Donnells effort wide of the post while Michelle O’Carroll in the Clanmaurice goals dealt well with a Roisin O’Brien shot. Danielle Sheedy pointed from play for the East Clare outfit in the twelfth minute, Aisling Corbett having sent a long range free down the field to the waiting Sheedy. Scariff Ogonnelloes next attempt was scrambled out over the end line and Scanlon converted the resulting ’45. Diggin added a free for Clanmaurices second point, and her next effort was flying low only to be batted away from Marion O’Brien. Scanlon added two more points before Olivia Dineen put over Clanmaurices first effort from play in the twenty seventh minute. Diggin added a free to narrow the deficit to four points with 2 minutes of time remaining in the opening half. However Scariff Ogonnelloe finished the half in style, Power setting up Scanlon for her fifth point of the game. Roisin O’Brien won the resulting puckout sending low to O’Donnell who passed to Sheedy with Sheedy finishing to the net to leave the half time score Scariff Ogonnelloe 2-6 Clanmaurice 0-4.

Clanmaurice made some positional changes at the break, moving full back Sara Murphy to the centreback position to curtail Scanlon, a move which worked well for the Kerry outfit. Clanmaurice had the opening two attacks with Marian O’Brien again winning the aerial battle and coming away with possession. Diggins next effort was wide of the post. Scariff Ogonnelloe could have had a third goal just minutes later, Sheedy rounded Niamh Leen now at full back, and with O’Carroll coming to meet her sent her shot low but wide, despite the effort of Moloney to keep the ball in play. A Diggin free set up Ann Marie Leen for Clanmaurices next point which was cancelled out at the other end by Scanlon. Diggins next effort from placed ball dipped under the bar to give the visitors a green flag with ten minutes played in the second half. In a physical encounter, Clanmaurice exerted pressure over the next ten minutes however the Scariff Ogonnelloe defence led by Marian O’Brien stood firm, with O’Brien breaking down attacks and coming away with possession. Diggin and Power exchanged points in the closing minutes to keep 6 points between the sides. Clanmaurice had time for one more attack only for O’Brien to again intercept and clear from danger, leaving the Clare outfit winners 2-9 to 1-6.

Scariff Ogonnelloe will met De la Salle of Waterford in the Final on 22nd October, the Waterford side having defeated Limericks Cappamore 3-15 to 2-8.

Scariff Ogonnelloe: Aisling Corbett, Leanne Horan, Marian Rodgers, Sarah Skelly, Holly McGee, Amy Barrett, Alison Madden, Roisin O’Brien, Cathy Madden, Rachael Maloney, Mairead Scanlan, Aoife Power, Danielle Sheedy, Rachael Minogue, Sarah O’Donnell.
Subs: Kealy Power for R. Maloney, Aine ‘O Brien for S. O’Donnell.

Clanmaurice: Michelle O’Carroll; Julianne O’Keeffe, Sara Murphy, Michelle Costelloe; Treise Moran, Niamh Leen, Aine O’Connor; Patrice Diggin, Elaine Ryall; Ann Marie Leen, Laura Collins, Olivia Dineen; Orla Young, Liz Houlihan, Alannah Maunsell

Referee: Philip Dee, Limerick