Adult Semis/Finals 7/8/9 October

PK Travel Senior Championship

Glenomra Shield Semi Final


St Josephs 5-7 Kilkishen 0-8

Following on from last year’s Intermediate success, St. Josephs secured a Senior Shield County Final spot against Truagh/Clonlara next Saturday in Clarecastle, with a win over Kilkishen in Gurteen last Friday evening.
The Parish side managed to keep Kilkishen at arm’s length throughout and built up an early half time lead, it was Kilkishen who opened the scoring inside the first minute of play with a point from Alannah Ryan.  Minutes later, Caoimhe Hoey blocked down a ball, popped it across to Louise Woods who rattled it to the Kilkishen net. Meghan Boland and Aisling McMahon exchanged points ten minutes into the half with McMahon (1f) and Kilkishen’s Kate Lynch adding a point a piece midway through the half. Caitriona Hennessy added a point of her own before Caoimhe Hoey goaled for the parish in the 22nd minute following a Louise Woods pass. Kate O’ Gorman (1) and Aisling McMahon (1f) added further points in the closing stages to go 2-4 to 0-5 clear at the interval.
Both sides traded points on the resumption, before St. Josephs extended their half time cushion adding 2-2 without reply heading into the closing quarter from Louise Woods (0-2) and Caoimhe Hoey (2-0)  with strong defensive displays from Kate Dillon, Aisling McMahon and the hard working Sarah Hoey.  However, Kilkishen inevitably fought on adding two further points from Kate Lynch and Alannah Ryan. The Parish had the final say in the closing minutes with a goal from Louise Woods and substitute Orlaith Lynch pointed to secure a well-deserved win as referee Joe O’Donnell blew the full time whistle.
St. Josephs: Ann Marie McGann; Kate Dillon, Megan O’ Brien, Orla Moloney; Aisling McMahon (0-4f), Eimear Casey, Vanessa Meaney; Michelle O’Neill, Sarah Hoey; Fiona Tuohy, Louise Woods (2-2), Ciara Guilfoyle; Erinn Hennessy, Caoimhe Hoey (3-0), Caitriona Hennessy (0-1).
Subs: Orlaith Lynch (0-1) for Fiona Tuohy, Doireann Hennessy for Caoimhe Hoey (inj).
Kilkishen: Deirdre Cotter; Joanne O’Gorman, Nollaig Baker, Eilis Whitney; Marie McNamara, Kate Lynch (0-2), Edel McNamara; Alannah Ryan (0-2), Aine Clooney; Michelle Tierney, Kate O’ Gorman (0-3), Niamh O’Gorman; Orla McInerney, Aine McInerney, Meghan Boland (0-1).
Referee: Joe O’Donnell (Cratloe)


Intermediate Shield Final

Tubber GAA:

Eire Og 5-9 Corofin 0-1

Two early, point blank saves by Éire Óg goalkeeper, Katie Malone, set the tone for the intermediate shield final which was played under lights at Tubber GAA on Friday night. The final score of 5-09 to a point was a reflection of a superb Éire Óg defence rather than poor play from their opponents. The half back & full back line never took their foot off the pedal, repelling every Corofin attack with success. Mid fielders, Sarah Redmond & Grainne Nolan also put in strong performances, with Nolan raising the first white flag of the evening in the 7th minute. Nolan notched up a further two points before a great passage of play resulted in Orla Devitt slotting her shot past the Corofin goalie. Two Maria Redmond points followed by a Grainne Nolan goal put the townies firmly in the driving seat. The first half was closed out with an excellent point from half back, Leah Ryan.

Corofin attacked strongly from the re-start, but, were held at bay once again by a rock solid Éire Óg defence. Second half goals from Elizabeth Russell, Ciara Kennedy and Grainne Nolan put the match well out of reach for the north Clare outfit. Éire Óg substitute, Shauna Keane, put her footballing skills to good use as she kicked her effort over the bar. Corofin never threw in the towel and were unfortunate to see many of their shots go to the wrong side of the posts. Orla McMahon sealed the victory for Éire Óg as she pointed in the last minute. Marie Louise Kaiser, on behalf of Clare Camogie Board, presented the Intermediate Shield to winning captain, Claire McMahon.

Éire Óg: Katie Malone; Saoirse Warren, Laura Brown, Caireann Kennedy; Claire McMahon(captain), Eva Whyte, Leah Ryan(0-01); Sarah Redmond, Grainne Nolan (2-04 0-2f); Orla McMahon(0-01), Ciara Kennedy(1-0), Maria Redmond(0-02); Roisin Martin, Orla Devitt(1-00), Elizabeth Russell (1-00)

Subs: Sophie Hanna for Claire McMahon, Nora Casey for Saoirse Warren, Sinead Mulcahy for Caireann Kennedy,  Shauna Keane(0-01) for Roisin Martin, Rae Wall for Ciara Kennedy

Corofin:  Cloda Collins; Aoife Forde( captain), Sinead Collins, Neasa Cahill; Rebecca Collins, Aoibheann Malone, Ciara Heagney; Corina McMahon, Siobhan Lane; Emer Kierse, Rebecca Crowe, Lauren O’Donoghue; Ailish Hanrahan, Aleisha Malone, Lauren Crowe

Referee: Aidan Ryan



Junior A Championship Shield Final

Shannon Camogie:

Wolfe Tones 6-5 Clooney Quin 2-6

Wolfe Tones ran out winners over a valiant Clooney Quin outfit on Sunday afternoon in the Junior A Shield Final. The old adage of goals win games rang true as the Shannon outfit raised six green flags throughout the sixty minutes. Wolfe Tones dominated in sectors of the field, breaking down the Clooney Quin attack. The Shannon outfit contained the Clooney Quin attack, while at the other end added to their tally. Clooney Quin did fight back and though they did break through for scores at vital times keeping them in the game, the second half performance of Wolfe Tones ensure victory for the Shannon outfit. Chairperson of Clare Camogie Joe Robbins presented the Shield to winning captain Avril O’Dea.

Wolfe Tones: Susan Williams; Vanessa McInerney, Leanne Boyle; Hayley Nolan, Lyndsey Hayes, Sinead Kelly; Jeanna Mann, Sharon Coleman; Lizzy Danagher Zoe McInerney, Avril O’Dea; Treise Earls Michelle Ring

Clooney Quin: Aine Nash; Rebecca Kennedy, Ellen Liddy; Cora O’Grady, Imelda Colleran, Alice O’Donnell; Marie Halpin, Aisling McGrath; Siobhan Halpin, Marie Keating, Orlaith Nash; Aoife O’Donnell, Sinead Considine

Subs: Emma Sheehy for Liddy, Hayley Brookes for McGrath

Referee: Joe O’Donnell, Cratloe 


Junior B Championship

Margaret O’Regan Cup Final

Clarecastle/Ballyea 4-9 St Josephs 2-5

Clooney GAA pitch was the venue for the junior b final between Clarecastle/Ballyea and the parish last Saturday evening with CC/Ballyea coming out on top on this occasion.
Hannah Meaney raised the green flag for St. Josephs in the opening minute from a Ciara Duggan free and followed up with a well taken point minutes later. CC/Ballyea’s Diandra O’Connell replied with two points from frees before an Emily Williams point gave her side 
a three point lead but this was short lived, as Emily Barry drove the ball to the corner of the Parish net to level matters midway through the half. Well worked scores from Diandra O’Connell (0-2), Amy Wiley (1-1) and Roisín Fallon (0-1) stretched the CC/Ballyea lead to go eight points clear and as the half time whistle sounded the scoreline read 2-7 to 1-2.
At the resumption of play, Ciara Duggan and Hannah Meaney pointed from frees narrowing the gap to six, but were dealt a hammer blow minutes later as Amy Wiley (1-0) and Emily Barry (1-0) pounced for goal in quick succession.  St. Josephs kept battling and Laura Hayes who put in a superb effort handpassed the goal to the net.  Diandra O’Connell and the hard working Hannah Meaney traded points in the closing stages of the game with the amalgamation’s final score coming from the stick of Amy Wiley secured the spoils on the day. 
Clarecastle/Ballyea: Edel Hehir, Siobhan Hehir, Ellen Barry, Hannah Dinan, Sinead Reidy, Roisín Fallon (0-1), Rebecca Culligan, Diandra O’Connell (0-6), Emily Barry (2-0), Ciara Lynch, 
Amiee Wiley (2-2), Sinead Cullinan, Clodagh O Meara.
St. Josephs: Ciara Duggan (0-1), Orla O’Neill (Capt), Orla Meehan, Michelle McMahon, Orla Hoey, Laura Hayes (1-0), Ellen Meaney, Aoife Shannon, Mary O’Connor, Keira McGrath, Hannah Meaney (1-3), Emily Williams (0-1), Ciara Whelan.
Referee: Aaron Hogg Clonlara